History of Science Fiction by a Really Meticulous Artist

10 Mar

This may be the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen–even if it wipes the table with my rag of a blog.  Ward Shelley must be brilliant, crazy well-read, and a bit of a digital humanist to make this:

Click here for the complete version. Also, someone let me know if this is for sale as a print.

Branching from the Gothic novel’s fine, but personally, I’m not sure that Gormenghast belongs so very close to “Sword and Sorcery” tales.  Anyway, see Flowing Data for more really intense data visualization projects.

Update: This has been the 185th post of the Scattering.  There will be more, soon–it’s Spring Break!  And because I’m kind of ridiculous, I’ll be spending it reading SF.  Up next: The Doom Guardian, by Julie Ann Dawson.

2 Responses to “History of Science Fiction by a Really Meticulous Artist”

  1. B.C. Young March 11, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    That’s pretty cool. I wonder how long it took to create.

  2. Isabela Morales March 11, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    I know, right? I’m impressed with the art, of course, but most astonishing is just how much detail there is–down to exactly where L. Ron Hubbard’s works became a religion.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers