Updates from a Horrible Review Blogger

17 Jul

Okay, so you know how whenever I post a review calendar I write something like this?

The reviewer reserves the right to be dishonest, off-task, irresponsible, untrustworthy, unscrupulous, untruthful, mendacious, perfidious, snarky and sarcastic at any time.

While I always intended that in itself to be nothing but superfluous snark, the last few months of nonexistent updates (when I was supposed to be reviewing, like, a dozen deserving novels) have proven that I really am unreliable, irresponsible, faithless and inconstant.  And because I am so terribly devoid of integrity, I’m going to tell you who’s to blame.

You.

You are to blame, you smart, funny, creative indie authors who send such nice messages requesting reviews.  You with your clever blurbs and quips.  You who get me all excited about new fiction to read until I can’t help but agree to review every single book that passes through my gmail.  It was fun while it lasted, but it can’t go on forever.  Because I think I just explained really well why it’s not me: it’s you.

Anyway, to make a sob story short, I let things get out of hand. By May, I was booked up into March of 2012, leading to delays that piled up into uber-delays, leading to me hiding from my blog because I  didn’t know how to catch up.  Reviewing had gotten more stressful than fun, which is a bad thing, considering the only reason I started doing it was for recreational purposes.  And considering that in March of 2012 I’ll be preparing to start a doctoral program in history, that sort of stress is not going to work.

So ignore the review calendar I posted for 2011/2012.  I’m cleaning house.  And because it’s all your fault for being smart and funny and creative, I had to dump a number of indie authors’ books.  This is the new the Scattering, and guess what?  It’s going to be fun again!

For me, anyway.

Check the About page for new submission standards.

Here’s what I’m still reviewing off the old list:

Heroes Die Young, by T. M. Hunter

Ghosts of Rosewood Asylum, by Stephen Prosapio

Shard Mountain, by Joe Mitchell

Outies, by Jennifer Pournelle

Encrypted, by Lindsay Buroker

Exchange, by Dale Cozort

Welcome to Gehenna, by Darren Scothern

Take the All-Mart, by J. L. Greco

Two-Fisted Tweets, by James Hutchings

The Valkyrie Project, by Nels Wadycki

Gods and Galaxies, by Aaron Smith

Keepers of the Rose, by D. J. Dalasta

Reich TV, by Jeff Pearce

Peace Army, by Steven L. Hawk

Deja Vu, by Ian Hocking

Stockholm, by Kian Kaul

5 Responses to “Updates from a Horrible Review Blogger”

  1. Stephen Prosapio July 17, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    I admit that my salesmanship is better than my meager attempts at penning a novel…but I got on the list and am near the top, so who says it’s not worth it?!?!?!

    You’ve got me and my fans waiting with bated (and in my case bad) breath for your Ghosts of Rosewood Asylum review. I just got my 17th 5-star review on Amazon, but it means nothing til we hear from the Queen of all things Scattered. :-)

  2. Frida Fantastic July 18, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Yay, you’re back! :) I’m paranoid of reviewer fatigue, which is why I only have a really short 4-5 book long confirmed-to-review list at any point in time. It means I have to keep my fingers from clicking on the “reply” button to many emails about interesting-looking books, but I do eventually reply when I know I’m in the mood to read it soon.

    • Isabela Morales July 19, 2011 at 9:31 am #

      That’s probably the smart way to go. I’m actually surprised I made it this long before the inevitable mental breakdown.

      • Frida Fantastic July 20, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

        Yep, accepting requests for book reviews is a volunteer gig that’s got “scope creep” written all over it :P That’s why I wrote on my submissions page that I can’t respond to every email (but I look at every book), and authors can still submit other books to me if I haven’t responded in a while. As long as we’re sharing our thoughts about indie books, in whatever way we can and how often we can, we’re doing a service for readers and writers. Or at least that’s how I see it ;)

  3. Frida Fantastic July 18, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    Oh yeah, congrats on Grad school!

    And I like your new submission guidelines. All those are huge turn offs for me too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers