Wheels within Wheels: Strange Lights in Norway and Ezekiel

10 Dec

Thousands of Norwegians witnessed a bizarre spiral of light in the sky on the morning of November 9.  Still, take a look:

(Read the original article and see more photographs at The Sun)

Update: 12/11 — Looks like the word is in, and the mysterious light show was a Russian missile launch after all.

Still, for what it’s worth, my first thought back on the 9th, after I snapped my gaping jaw shut and got over the initial shock, was that the images from Norway bore  a striking resemblance to what some researchers have pointed to as a description of UFOs in the Bible.

Ezekiel 1:16 (New American Standard Bible)

The appearance of the wheels and their workmanship was like sparkling beryl, and all four of them had the same form, their appearance and workmanship being as if one wheel were within another.

“Beryl,” notably, is transparent mineral often of a blue or green color (much like in the pictures of the spiral over Norway).

The similarity of the spiral seen to the description of “wheels within wheels,” I think, needs little explanation.

What I love most (even in my awe– in the traditional definition of wonder and fear) is that this suggests, if nothing else, that modern analysis of early texts might want to give a little more credit to the historiography of ancient people.  Now I’m not saying that the spiraling light was the fiery chariot of cherubim; that’s probably less likely than an alien invasion.  But it is interesting to consider that, if this fiery wheel does turn out to have been a natural “astral phenomenon” as some were claiming earlier, it may have been seen sometime in the distant past as well.

We’re all quick and willing to apply “to err is human” to people of earlier centuries (how much more so for millennia?) without considering that we ourselves could be lacking vital information.  Human eyewitness accounts haven’t changed so much since biblical times, even if the equipment to capture something as bizarre as a fiery “wheel within a wheel” is now available.  After all, a number of Norwegians, grasping for words, compared the sight to a “Catherine wheel.”

Just a thought.

5 Responses to “Wheels within Wheels: Strange Lights in Norway and Ezekiel”

  1. Preceptor, Thraxis V December 10, 2009 at 9:51 pm #

    Scattering,
    I think you’ve perceived something significant here. We tend to think our “modern” view of things is the most advanced, the most free from religious overlays or superstitions. Yet we have our own “overlays”, our own predispositions through which we view the world. People from antiquity had some great wisdom and perceptions that we would be wise to try and understand. In some ways, they may have viewed the world more clearly than we do today.

    • thescattering December 12, 2009 at 3:17 am #

      Hear hear! I often wonder what distant future humans will think of us.

  2. Brimey December 11, 2009 at 8:11 pm #

    I’ve heard about this event on the podcast “No Agenda,” and read a few articles. This is the first video I’ve seen on it… I don’t know, it’s just me. With all that can be done via Photoshop and the like, I tend to be very very cynical. Unless I see it with my own naked eyes as it’s happening, it’s hard to accept anything now-a-days. Is it just me? Because if I really saw that, me thinks I’d wet my pants.

    • thescattering December 12, 2009 at 3:18 am #

      I can sympathize; all I know is that at 2 in the morning, before information about the Russian missile launch came online, even that video freaked me out. Intensely.

  3. bruceleeeowe January 10, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    Oh, that strange light in the atmosphere of norway. I think those were proved to be russian failed missile launch. Likelyness of alien civilization’s invasion is fairly less. I don’t think it is going to be happen so easily unless we detect them and harm as well. You think that? Fermi paradox is a bit harder. See this
    http://bruceleeeowe.wordpress.com/2010/01/10/what-we-would-ultimately-find/
    I’ve illustrated something which might be. What do you think albeit?

Leave a Reply

