Ayn Rand wrote science fiction?

8 Jun

Let’s drive some traffic to the good ol’ University of Alabama campus newspaper.  Today, my first-ever print column was published in the Crimson White.  Soon, Tuscaloosa will be the science fiction consumption capital of the world, American Studies profs will be teaching classes on Atlas Shrugged, and everyone will be reading off of Kindles.

It’s nice to be a tastemaker.

Click for the full column: "Ayn Rand wrote science fiction?"

3 Responses to “Ayn Rand wrote science fiction?”

  1. dogsear June 8, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    I stumbled across your blog–and thus your article–while tag surfing. I might indeed check out Anthem. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. It sounds very intriguing. I must say, though, I’m a bit leery of Rand since she seems to have a cult following of folks that lean to the right, while I’m way over on the left.

    • Isabela Morales June 8, 2011 at 9:23 am #

      True, some of her advocates can be a little… militant. The great thing about Anthem is that it’s not political in a right/left sort of way: it’s about individualism in the face of a totalitarian regime, classic sci-fi themes.

      • dogsear June 20, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

        I picked Anthem up and am in the midst of it. I’m impressed so far. It’s reminding me of 1984. I like that the protagonist is so caught up in groupthink that refers to himself as “we.” Thanks for the review, Isabela, and your reassuring comment, too as I would have missed out on this work without your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

