How To: Drop Off the Face of the Earth (and come back again)

17 Feb

Hey folks, just wanted to check in and let everyone (all 4 or 5 of you) know that I haven’t died, or worse, given up the Internet because I got religion in a really big, really Luddite way.  I have, in fact, been writing my senior thesis here at the good old University of Alabama, and applying to graduate programs, and generally stressing out about both.  BUT!  I have good news:

1. Good news for me: I’m going to grad school.  Can’t say where yet, but it’s happened, and soon I’ll be saying things like “why, that calls for a mention of reductio ad absurdum…” or “it’s Dr. Morales to you.”  In any case, nobody cares.

2. Good news for the blog: I haven’t stopped reading or reviewing, and while grad school might put me out of commission again, I have a few months of grace period between now and then, so I may have some more regular updates.

In any case, I have been writing more conventional (ie. not indie) reviews for the campus paper.  I’m including the link to my byline and such right here: http://cw.ua.edu/author/isabela-morales/ 

I’ll be re-posting those as well, and they include such titles as:

The Marriage Plot, by Jeffrey Eugenides (they made me write it for Valentine’s Day)

Wolf Hall, by Hilary Mantel (I made them let me do Thomas Cromwell)

The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins (read it before the movie comes out, you hipsters, or you never will out of pride, I know it!)

Oh, and also look for more television reviews coming up.  I watch so much tv, you see, so so much.

3 Responses to “How To: Drop Off the Face of the Earth (and come back again)”

  1. B.C. Young February 18, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    Welcome back! I was wondering what happened to you.

    I read The Hunger Games series. I thought it was good, but I found the last book, with it’s obvious tie-in to the previous books, was just okay. I felt the author forced the idea on me of likening the situation in the third book to the games in the first two books. If she would have let me naturally come to that conclusion, I would have liked the last book a lot more.

    By the way, the next Miscorrection story, Dimensions, which is a novel, comes out in a few weeks. If you think you might want to read and review it, let me know and I’ll send you a copy. In fact, since you’ve been a big supporter of mine, I’ll send it to you even if you don’t want to review it.

    I’m looking forward to reading your reviews!

  2. John Derderian February 18, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Isabela, it’s good to see you back. And congratulations on grad school!

  3. Jeff Faria February 19, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    I was wondering what had happened as well. COuldn’t even ‘friend’ you on FB for updates! If I hadn’t subscribed to this blog, I guess I would have had to subscribe to one of your two theories…

Leave a Reply

